Music and Me

Everyone who knows me knows I love music and singing. I grew up watching Michael Jackson concerts with starry-eyes, believing till an embarrassingly old age that all you needed was passion and talent in order to make it big in showbiz. While other kids were talking about becoming doctors, I had my sights set on a Grammy. I was so convinced that this was what I was born to do that my parents often had to take me aside after a particularly lazy report card and tell me to get real and apply myself to what was in front of me so that on the off chance that I didn’t get famous, I’d have an education to fall back on.

With all the stubbornness of a typical adolescent, I would pep-talk myself into not believing them and turn up the music louder as I sang into the night each night. This has been my usual practice from before I can remember. I sing all the time — in the car, in the shower, in my room each night — anywhere I feel comfortable and at ease. Most of the time, it’s an unconscious compulsion – I barely notice that I do it. In public, I usually have to rein it in, keeping it to a barely audible hum that only my ears can pick up.

Not so in my room. When I’m alone I’m in my element – I don’t have to worry about being shy so I belt out my favourite songs with gusto. I love songs that push and stress my voice and really give my vocal chords a stretch. I’m not afraid to take chances when it’s just me in my room and usually that confidence translates into the fact that I can sing most anything without having to worry about whether I can or not. When I’m performing though, it’s a whole other story. I have major stage fright. This wasn’t always the case – when I was little, my sisters and I would jump at the chance to perform for relatives or anyone who’d listen to us. As we grew older though, performing became embarrassing and we’d grumble stormily whenever our parents would ask us to sing for them or whoever was in present company. I’ve done a spot of performing here and there but am always plagued by these annoying nerves: I shake like a leaf and my voice shakes unattractively along with me and I just want it all to be over so I can run into the seclusion of my room and convince myself that I really can sing after all.

This is why everyone who knows me knows me I love singing – but very few have actually heard me sing to the best of my ability. So when I discovered Garageband on my Mac, it was a massive thrill to be able to actually get my voice out there. My voice with all the confidence of being alone in my room behind it, but using a medium to get the sound out into the void. Honestly, I do it mostly for me. There’s nothing I love more than a good song and this is a means for me to create and get to know my voice even better. The process usually takes a whole evening but the hours fly by and before I know it I’ve spent four hours in front of my computer and forgotten to eat my dinner. Can’t think of a better way to spend my time these days really :)

Over the next few days I’ll be posting a bunch of tracks I’ve recorded thus far. Just for the heck of it :)

Day Dreamer

from http://marshmallowsgonewild.blogspot.com/

This is probably my favourite Adele song although it’s easily one of her lesser known tracks. Different lines remind me of different people close to me, so it always makes me smile. I like how simple it is, but also how sweet.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. citizenlk says:

    I can very well relate to that… and the embarrasment of being caught humming a tune to myself during what was a tense business negotiation at work!!! :-D

  2. Angel says:

    Awesome singing….. you’re *really* good!

  3. T says:

    Love your voice!! My favourite is still Window Seat, but this is fantastic.

  4. RD says:

    Nice G12, I like your phrasing!

  5. u4j10 says:

    Lovely! Looking forward to your other ones.

  6. dee says:

    WHOA. SO good O_O I don’t get it…how do you do the harmonising and guitar alone? :/

  7. Gehan says:

    fantastic Gypsy! i feel inspired to get back to the keyboard now.. haha.. i know the effort that goes into recording the harmonies, and those are really, really well done! keep them coming..

  8. WOW…! I just had to say that…! Very impressive…!

  9. thebohemiangypsy says:

    Thanks everyone!! Will keep posting over the next few weeks :)

    @Dee – I can’t take credit for the music. I just download the instrumentals and sing over them. As for the harmonies, the programme I use (Garageband) allows me to record different tracks that I can overlap, so basically i can sing harmonies over my own melodies etc.

  10. Wow, you can really sing !!
    :)

Leave a Reply

