walk-around city.

Rain, by Deshan
colombo,
i wish i could walk around you.
on a whim,
on a fancy.
on a silly dream,
to wherever you’ll take me.
.
i wish i could walk your streets,
and get to know you;
take pictures of your secret places,
your three million hidden faces.
.
i wish you weren’t too hot,
too dangerous,
too dirty.
all good in a man – but not in my city.
.
i want my city to cool me down,
be my hiding place,
be rough but clean shaven;
i’d like to take my city home to meet my mother.
.
colombo, i wish i could walk around you.
i wish you were big enough
for me and my dreaming.
big enough for a secret smile to go unseen.
a guilty laugh to go unheard.
for a whisper meant for no one
to be lost in peace.
.
colombo, i wish i could walk around you instead of hurrying
from one indoors
to another
to another
to another.
i don’t want to know you from my house,
inside my chauffeured car.
nor locked in sanitized office spaces.
.
i wish i could feel the skin of you,
warm roads on cool nights.
i wish i could for hours
sit unburnt by your sun,
undisturbed by your irresponsible sons.
i wish i could watch you in the open.
and i wish i could smell your rain from the outside,
me inside you;
my nose wrinkling free
instead of through a sliver of open window.
.
colombo,
i wish you would clean up for me
but still stay irrepressible.
i love your personality
but i want to blunt your razor edges –
just a little.
.
i want to trip along your tree’d avenues by moonlight.
take me to your favorite places –
you show me yours, and i’ll show you mine.

.

colombo,
i wish you’d let me
walk around you.
i know you’d clean up nice.
(edited by Deshan Tennekoon)
5 Comments Add yours

  1. Dee says:

    Nice… reminded me of a shady night eating HBC in the pub of Salaka with a couple of friends. It’s got its dirty diamonds too, but I get you. :)

  2. thebohemiangypsy says:

    Greentea – Thanks babe. Read through your blog and really enjoyed it.

    Dee – Thanks :) I’ve edited a bit since you read it (with the help of a friend) so I think it reads better now.

  3. Gehan says:

    very nice, Gypsy :)

  4. SweetIdiot says:

    there’s something about the way you write gypsy…its beeyootiful… =]

Leave a Reply

