An affair to remember

She aches for me, and I for her.

The day passes in a haze of impatience for light to leave the world to darkness. For as soon as the shadows fall, my little girl runs to take me to her bed.

And under crisp, rustling sheets we watch each other: she, as I dance for her within my glass confine, in all the glory of my fluttering illumination; and I, as her entranced eyes grow heavy with sleep and finally close on the day.

It is a love unlike any other that I have ever known.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. T says:

    enchanting :)

  2. Sachi says:

    Beautiful..

  3. Dee says:

    aw… niceee

  4. Jacj Point says:

    Getting into a very philosophical frame of mind?
    Interesting writing.

  5. thebohemiangypsy says:

    Not philosophical at all Jack Point – this is largely a writing exercise, inspired by this site: http://micro-fiction.blogspot.com/

    This piece is quite literally about a firefly and every little girl’s enchantment with catching a firefly in a jar. I used to be that little girl :)

  6. Delilah says:

    beautiful.

Leave a Reply

