A message from a first-time voter

Originally published on Groundviews.



Two choices, by schelly

In 2005, I didn’t vote. Being 21, I was eligible to vote, but I didn’t – and if you asked me why, I would ashamedly admit I simply didn’t care. I was in University abroad, my mind preoccupied with the Arts, my arms wrapped around my glossy new textbooks, my life an adventure waiting to happen. Voting, politics and presidents didn’t register on my radar: the picture they represented was too big for me to fathom and it all seemed so removed from the microcosm of my life. In 2005, my parents were the presidents of my world and I the rebellious citizen, rioting for my right to certain freedoms.

After my university career, I moved back home and joined a media institution – just in time to get a front row seat to some of the most significant events in Sri Lanka’s history. 2 years and the end of a war later, I find both myself and my country in turmoil. Strange, considering we are supposed to be at peace now. But then again, we are supposed to be many things. We are supposed to be a democracy. We are supposed to be opposed to violence because violence is the way of terrorists – and we are supposed to have defeated terrorism. We are supposed to be a liberated people, with freedom of movement, expression and choice.

But it is election time now and what, of all those things, do we have?

There have been 3 election related killings already and hundreds of violent incidents. When people are intimidated into voting for someone other than their preference; when people are afraid to vote at all; when people are killed for simply supporting one side and not the other; when people are murdered for putting up an election poster – where does that leave us? Guerrilla warfare is not the only face of terrorism. And, as we are all well aware, terrorism negates democracy.

There are reportedly a million eligible voters without identity cards. There are displaced people living in areas other than where they were originally registered, without the ability to return and thus without the ability to vote. There probably thousands of people who have not been educated on how to use their vote or on just how important their vote is, especially now.

Despite grandiose announcements of there now being no minorities in the country, there certainly are, and those who are feeling it the most are the minorities themselves – simply because they have never been made to feel any other way. It is no coincidence that parties representing minority communities have banded together on one side, knowing full well the gamble they are making in order to see some sort of viable change.

As for choice… Two men are readying themselves to take on the country, each confident of their chances at winning. Two men who were once on the same side, and who are now angry, bitter enemies. Two men who are promising their country utopia: peace, prosperity, the end of corruption, the end of discrimination and the end of violence – despite the fact that they are two men whose roles in the past and whose popularity at present is built on winning a violent war by violent means. Two men who say they are committed to a free and fair election. But given their ubiquitous propaganda and incessant, nasty mud-slinging, are they two men we can believe?

Politics aside, from the viewpoint of a first-time voter, I have found myself with a choice between two angry, violent men – and I can’t help but wonder if this is any choice at all. This may seem like an emotional response to a highly complex, political situation – but fact of the matter is, the average individual is not a political animal. The average individual responds to the price of rice when it goes up making it too expensive to feed a family, to the loss of a loved one to the war regardless of which side they are on, to the thugs warning them to vote for so-and-so or else.

In the past weeks, I have surprised even myself by the level of my anxiety about elections. It is that clichéd tightening in my chest – that knowledge that I have an impossible decision to make, coupled with the knowledge that that decision could very well change my life and everybody else’s. What if I make the wrong one? This potential guilt is what, perhaps selfishly, scares me more than anything else.

Others who feel similarly have simply said they will vote for someone other than the two main candidates or that they will just not vote at all. After battling with these options myself, I have rejected them and I encourage others to do the same. Voting is a gamble, yes, but to waste that vote would be to forfeit your right to determine what happens to this country. Our individual contribution may be small – 1 in some 14 million – but collectively, for the first time in a long time, there is the merest hope of change. Change that could be our salvation or our undoing, no matter who wins this election. We are not predictors of the future, but we should not forget that have a hand in it.

In 2005, I didn’t vote.

In 2010, things are very different. I am very different. We all are. But on the 26th of January, we will all have to make a choice. To anyone sharing in my dilemma, I say this: do not vote for a person, a party or a political ideal. This year, the best any of us can do is to vote for change: change that is accommodating, fair and right. I wish all of us good luck.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. johndoe says:

    Post inspired me to write something as well. In progress. Pretty happy you changed your mind about how you were going to use your vote.

  2. Hisham says:

    you know… I don’t understand this election violence business at the end of the day.. its a SECRET BALLOT init? how the hell are you gonna find out who voted for whom? and if someone beats me up and say vote for this guy, I’ll damn well out of spite even go and voted for the other guy….. :S

  3. Warren says:

    Great to read. I hope the rest of Colombo matures and takes responsibility… Proud of you.

  4. thebohemiangypsy says:

    JD: Cool, send the link along when you’re done. I’m not happy about the choice I have, but at least I’ve decided on a course of action.

    Hisham: When there’s intimidation and harassment, the whole point of the secret ballot is lost. You may be able to stand up to thugs, but a lot of people can’t and won’t for their own safety and that of their families. It’s the sad reality :/

    Warren: Thanks babe :)

  5. Aufidius says:

    I am not a Tamil; I watched a clip from Al-Jazeera yesterday on the Sri Lankan elections.

    There is enough rhetoric in political and apolitical circles these days suggesting that in the event of Sarath Fonseka becoming president, Sri Lanka would become a military state.

    About Sri Lanka becoming a military state with Sarath Fonseka at the helm, The journalist ends the clip saying something in the lines of ‘for Tamils who suffered in the conflict for 30 long years, there will be nothing unusual in that anyway’, as if to insinuate that the tamils may as well vote for hope, than vote for the incumbent under whom they felt the tremors of a pseudo military state if not a military one.

  6. The Outsider says:

    Inspiring writing and inspiring for what?

    The people of Sri Lanka have come to the threshold of Bushian cliche of “Either with us or other” determines ones fate today.

    However, change is a must for people to progress and particularly positive change is the need of the hour.

    The destiny of a country is decided by the people and not the candidates and that is why sovereignty is reposed on the people by the constitution and not the candidates otherwise these candidates would become the kings and queens as some aspiring to be.

    Ballot is always secret and few bullets cannot definitely stop the decision of the people.

    The problem today is the silence of the decent majority who are intimidated by the minuscule minority of thugs and hooligans.

    The ballot of the majority can prevail over the bullet and decide the destiny of the country.

    Certainly change will never come until the people realize the need for change and how, why and when change should come.

    The best change that we see today before the election is a candidate coming without a baggage of scoundrels and henchman, party and politics thus epitomizing representativeness of the people. This portends good omen for the people of Sri Lanka. Should sovereignty go to the people, the people should choose a peoples candidate.

  7. Kapila says:

    For a person who claims to have had a “front row seat to some of the most significant events in Sri Lanka’s history” your request to vote for change is hilarious.Either you have not had a front row seat or you have been sleeping in that seat. A pronlem with self claimed “journalists” no doubt.

  8. thebohemiangypsy says:

    The Outsider: I agree completely. I don’t know if either candidate is “without a baggage of scoundrels and henchman, party and politics thus epitomizing representativeness of the people” but right now, we have to take the gamble that one will be better than the other. Fingers crossed for election day tomorrow!

    Kapila: Criticisms without basis appear to be a forte for you – Anne or Kapila or whatever you like to call yourself. It’s people like you who bring this country down: who participate in debate but in a completely meaningless way. You fling malicious criticism every which way without having the balls to put forward your own opinions and discuss things rationally with people who may have different points of view. It is for this reason that we need change: to take this country out of the hands of people like you – those who are pig-headedly intolerant of difference – and put it into the hands of people who will, hopefully, do things with more constructive discussion and therefore democracy. Thanks for proving my point!

  9. dilsiriw says:

    Maneesha Abey says she hopes you voted for the right guy.

  10. thebohemiangypsy says:

    Dilsiri – There was no right guy.

  11. asela says:

    WTF ?
    “My country and my people are in a turmoil ”

    Like hell they are !!!!

    WTF ? Have you even heard of evidanced based journalism.

    Go write some poetry and let properly trained journalists do their job.

  12. thebohemiangypsy says:

    Oh like the ‘journalists’ operating state media??? Which has sunk to the level of cheap propaganda and no more? What a laugh Asela. As for evidence – here’s some for you to swallow: the few Tamils who did vote, voted against your king MR. That is evidence enough for me that we need some change. The government’s response is to call the Tamil people ‘ungrateful’ – what’s yours?

Leave a Reply

